Sparkle

March 8, 2013 § 16 Comments

The sun is sparkling today and Sparkle No. 1 quilt is done.  Sparkle No. 2 quilt is pinned and ready for quilting.

Let me back up.  Last November I joined a charity sewing group on Flickr called Do.Good.Stitches.  There are many sub-groups within the larger group and I joined the Faith group.  There are ten ladies who sew blocks every month while one person organizes, collects & assembles that month’s blocks. Our charity that we are donating quilts to is Restore Innocence, an organization that rescues girls from human trafficking.  This is a tragic issue that is finally getting more exposure & help through organizations like Restore Innocence.

January was my month to organize and assemble.  These are the blocks that I asked everyone to make.  We used the Sparkle tutorial to make the blocks.  And with each of us making 2 blocks I had enough to make two quilts. This is the first one. The second one is pinned and ready for quilting.  I was inspired by Amanda’s honeycomb quilting but used a slightly different stitch.  It’s stitch number 19 on my Janome 7700.  It’s more curvy than zig zaggy.  I love the ripply effect after washing!   I’m definitely going to use this stitch again for more quilting. I just love it.  The finished size of the quilt is approximately 60″ x 69″.

Links to the Sparkle tutorial:
Cutting
Sewing
Flickr group

I’m linking up to Amanda’s Finish It Up Friday over at Crazy Mom Quilts

§ 16 Responses to Sparkle

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading Sparkle at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 503 other followers

