Turn down the volume!*

January 25, 2013 § 15 Comments

Don’t you just love it when there is a fabric that describes how you feel sometimes? Blah blah blah….

I finally pieced together the last five rows of my low volume quilt.  It feels good to have that part done!  I’m determined to chip away at my UFO list.  And this is one quilt that I am looking forward to using.

There are all kinds of fabric in this one. Some of it I just LOVE and this is the perfect quilt for it. Others… well, they just needed to be removed from the stash… somehow.  But as always in scrappy quilts, I think the uglies get lost between the lovelies.  And it all becomes lovely.

The only place inside the house big enough to take a quick photo on a rainy day is inside the construction zone.

This is the state of our kitchen.  It is coming along in the usual fashion, which feels like it is NOT fast enough. We are sick of the dust, the smells and the inability to cook healthy meals.  We have a very small rotation of meals that go between the crock pot and our camp stove.  It is getting old.  And why oh why are the construction workers not here yet today??  This is the part that I really struggle with. Perfectly good daylight and no one is working!  I know, they have to juggle the different tasks that need to get done.  But still….  I will try to be patient.

* Not only a good quilt name, but what I do to the Internet when web sites have sound. For some reason I have a very low tolerance for added sound (music, ads, etc) on web sites.  Off goes the volume.

Happy Weekend!

§ 15 Responses to Turn down the volume!*

  • Gisele says:

    The top is looking lovely & very calming. I agree with your footnote, I can’t stand sites that have “noise” when you arrive for a visit! Hope the renovations are completed soon for you :)

  • Elisabeth says:

    Anita, this top is lovely. How did you manage to sew these perfect points? My trinagles do not meet.

  • njquilter24 says:

    really love this quilt top keep going! wish I had enough lights to do something like this.
    hmmm maybe I do with shirtings…
    thanks for the inspiration I have to think about this.
    hmmm lots of points and yours are so perfect!
    any tips?
    loving the kitchen so far, I can only imagine how much you are ready for this to be done , the wall color is wonderful
    Kathie

  • Gorgeous quilt in the making!
    Sorry to hear you are in mess with the reno…getting the kitchen redone is the worse. It won’t be long and then you’ll be cooking up a storm in no time :o)

  • Cat says:

    This will be a beautiful quilt! I have been collecting low volume fabs and have a small stack of triangles about this same size cut out… I plan to throw in a few drab solids that are darker though….one day.
    But yes, beautiful quilt in the making here, and fabulous kitchen in the remaking it looks like!

  • Jean says:

    I really, really like your low-volume quilt! Love it!

    Your construction is really moving along. Soon, you’ll be stocking your cabinets and cooking up a storm. It’s going to be beautiful!

  • Brenda says:

    I love your low volume quilt! I can sympathize with the remodeling saga. Only too late during our reno did I think about using our old electric skillet. With it I could make eggs, grilled cheese – all sorts of things. In fact, I’m still using it post-reno. Happy quilting!

  • Mary Jo says:

    Beautiful. Love all those triangles especially the blaalblaa one. So funny.
    Kitchen and floor are looking good too.

  • Linda says:

    That blah,blah,blah is going to turn into yeah,yeah,yeah when that reno and your quilt are finished. Both are going to be beautiful ! Hang in there, it just feels like forever but it is so worth it.

  • nifty Quilts says:

    Really wonderful! Congratulations. Did you use a template for the triangles?

  • Rachel says:

    Awesome quilt!! I love that blah blah blah fabric!! I *may* have to find some myself. :) :)

    Cheers!
    Rachel
    http://www.scrapendipity.com/

  • mathea says:

    Your lovely quilt shows that sometimes the best way to go is with low volume :-)

  • Jan says:

    Your quilt top is gorgeous, Anita. What a nice *step away* from some our our more raucous prints and patterns! (I keep coming back to look at it.)
    Your kitchen is going to be lovely. That is my bugaboo, too, though…the off-and-on workers. Aggravating.

  • Liza says:

    Glad I found your blog, we are about to start our kitchen renovation, it looks a lot like yours, the corridor style. Like the quilt but love the one of your husband’s shirts. Upcycling is becoming a hobby. that is when I am not knitting. Good luck with the construction, I may ask for your crockpot recipes.

  • Alexandra says:

    I really like this muted top!

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading Turn down the volume!* at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 504 other followers

