Last quilt standing

January 14, 2013 § 12 Comments

Alright, I can’t believe half the month of January has gone by already!  I must be keeping busy?

This was the very last quilt finished in 2012.  Actually, the last stitch on the binding was finished last week. But I’m considering it finished last year.  It was a Block-of-the-Month quilt from my local quilt shop.  The pattern is Grandmother’s Sampler by Lori Smith of From My Heart to Your Hands.

As for the linting issue… much of it came off when I washed & dried it, but not all of it. I took a tape roller to it to get the rest of it off. And then as soon as I picked up the quilt, it was covered in cat hair.  I think this one may have to go to a pet-free home.  I’m not sure who that will be yet.  But there are still friends & family members without quilts so some day it will find a good home.

I decided to quilt it in a utilitarian gridwork.  There is so much going on in the quilt top that it seemed like the easiest &  best solution.  I actually used an olive green thread. I wasn’t sure that I was going to like black thread all over those bright colors. So I chose a medium value color that seemed the least intrusive.   As my long arm quilting friends can attest to, it’s surprising sometimes the color the thread ends up being.

And I couldn’t bring myself to make the back any one color. No matter what I kept trying to choose, it felt like just too much of that color.  So I opted to make the back a smaller version of a traditional Amish style quilt since the front is so wild and not traditionally Amish at all.

Next up from my UFO list will be my low volume quilt. I actually hung it on on the design wall and started working on the last 5 rows.  I’m feeling a little more energetic about tackling my UFO pile than I was back in December.

§ 12 Responses to Last quilt standing

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading Last quilt standing at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 561 other followers

