I accidently drank the kool-aid

January 3, 2013 § 22 Comments

~ Ok, I caved.
~ Tutorial can be found here.
~ It’s mostly scraps from the scrap bins that I had started sorting before Christmas.
~ Except for the purple, which is from the stash.
~ I’m not a purple person, but I’ve been wanting to make a quilt for a friend whose favorite color is purple.
~ This doesn’t count towards my UFO¬†problem because it’s mostly from the scrap bins, right?
~ And it doubly doesn’t count because it’s going to be a gift.
~ I didn’t really like it at first until there were at least 8 or 9 blocks on the wall.
~ But now it’s growing on me.
~ Does it need more purple?
~ What it really needs, I think, are a couple of acid yellows & oranges to make it start speaking to me.
~ Now there are 15 blocks.
~ I think I’m going to make at least 36 blocks.
~ What did you do today?

§ 22 Responses to I accidently drank the kool-aid

  • Oh wow! Seriously, wow! I really love these colors (and I’m not a purple person either). I keep seeing these blocks everywhere, and it is SO tempting, and now you’re tempting me, too! As you know, I have the same UFO problem. Oh, what to do? But really, you needed to make this quilt!
    Today I cut out my Greek Cross pieces for the Random Sampler. Just need to stitch them together and I will be caught up on that one. I’m loving working on this project :)

  • DianeY says:

    I love the purple in there. And yes, yes on the orange & yellow, too. I think it goes great with purple!

  • Lynne says:

    Well dang it I made a couple of blocks too. There is no turning back.
    Yours is a beaut!

  • Trisha says:

    Love it! My sister and I Skyped while we worked on Random Sampler blocks today. We just made the 16 patches while Skyping and I was thinking they would be so pretty in a quilt filled with them. Kind of like you did here but your blocks are bigger.

  • You too! I spent the day cutting strips. My plan is 48. Valentine’s colours for mine. Light pink, dark pink, red, purple, aqua, white prints. I’m about 1/2 way through the cutting.

  • susan says:

    someones kicking scrappytripalong butt!
    love it. i would throw it some of those yellows!

  • Jean(ie) says:

    I’ve been seeing this block make the rounds. Looks addictive!

  • chelsea says:

    I love your combo of the purples and pales! But yeah, some acid yellow or green would be gorgeous. I knocked of 4 blocks today and I’m already contemplating another version.

  • LeeAnn says:

    Looks great! Great way to use purple. I just drank the same kool-aid, and made four blocks today. And, no, it doesn’t count when it’s a gift.

  • njquilter24 says:

    wow! yes add some acid yellow and oranges and more reds :)
    omg I may have to think about doing this too
    just looks FUN!
    no it doesn’t count its a gift!
    Kathie

  • Definitely another one on my “Must make” list. I love purple. It totally sings to me :D Avis x

  • Sandie says:

    Bring on the acid yellows & oranges and you’ll love it, too. Aren’t they fun to make?

  • It’s fabulous! I love the purple…such an underused colour.

  • Blue.Ridge.Girl says:

    You are too funny! Sounds like you are having a blast with it…and using stash…always a good thing :)

  • meagangracie says:

    I started cutting on Tuesday, but I haven’t gotten any time to sew since then! I really hope I can look at it this weekend.

  • Mary Jo says:

    Beautiful. This is a tempting one. Can a person have too many ufos? I guess they can, seems to be a commom thing.

  • roccagal says:

    Happy new year to you, Anita!
    ok guess what what I am going to do as soon as I get upstairs? LOL!
    I have seen the quilt along posted on various sites and have not caved, until now.
    I have lots of purples in my stash which i found out, as well ,through the after Xmas clean up. i do not much like purple, either so this inspired me to do a purge of those yucky fabrics!

    (ps don’t tell anyone but this quilt looks really good despite those darn purples)

  • Stephanie says:

    Hey Anita,
    It’s good for the soul to work on something New as you tackle the UFO pile. I’m jumping on the bandwagon too…I’ve got the weekend off so I’m hoping I can get a few blocks done. Yours looks fab!!

  • Steph says:

    Beautiful!

  • Tink says:

    You did drink the sweet stuff!!! It is a sweet quilt and your friend is going to cherish it forever!!!

  • katyquilts says:

    Love this! I feel myself getting ready to take a sip as well…..lots of Denyse Schmidt strips already cut!

  • Karen says:

    I’m trying to resist and you are not making it easy LOL!! Looks great.

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading I accidently drank the kool-aid at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 571 other followers

