Racing Stripes

November 25, 2012 § 9 Comments

My sister-in-law and I each made a Jelly Roll Race quilt over Thanksgiving.  It is probably the fastest quilt top I have ever made!  The top took less than 2 hours to make.  So fast! This is the YouTube tutorial that we started with.  We decided to sew the strips straight, end-to-end, rather than on the diagonal so that we wouldn’t have to trim so much off the strips.

Jacqui’s is above.  Hers is made from Kate Spain’s Good Fortune collection.  Plus, she added a few extra strips left over from a previous quilt she made with a different Kate Spain collection. So her quilt came out a little bit bigger.  She said she is going to use this one to practice free-motion quilting.

My quilt is below.  I had a a Jelly Roll from Tula Pink’s Flutterby collection in my stash. And I must have used one strip for a precious project because it was one short. So my quilt came out a little smaller. Plus, the YouTube tutorial instructs you to cut off 18″ at the beginning to make where the strips meet more random.  I couldn’t stand the thought of adding  more fabric to my scrap baskets so I sewed the 18″ piece in between a couple of strips near the end.  This resulted in one row where the seams nearly met up.  I am thinking about quilting it up with muslin on the back and making a cover for my chair in the sewing room.  It’s either that or give it away.

Now… I need to get on a finishing kick!

§ 9 Responses to Racing Stripes

  • Mary says:

    I like this…I would love to see the chair you’re thinking of covering.
    I watched the youtube tutorial it was a kick. Thanks for the information, I would make one. Mary

  • LeeAnn says:

    Never thought I’d make one of these, but both of yours look so great! Another one for the list. Your chair cover idea sounds fantastic.

  • njquilter24 says:

    using it to cover a chair sounds fun, please post pictures if you do that!
    ok I have wanted to try this and I Have a jelly roll sitting here
    did you really just sew the strips randomly or did you plan where they went? thanks
    Kathie

    • Anita says:

      Yes, randomly! Jacqui’s came straight off the Jelly Roll with her extra strips thrown in. And mine was messed up from when I was playing around with it for a previous project that never saw the light of day. I just used it as is. These would make great charity quilts because they are SO quick and easy!

  • njquilter24 says:

    btw I think they both look wonderful!
    just happy colorful quilts
    kathie

  • Susan says:

    Oh man, that is sooooooo adorably cool!!! Now, I want to go and drag out all of my strips that are sitting and waiting for something fun to happen with them. YUP, you made the Monday morning decision for me!! Thanx tons…..love the inspirations…..hugs…Susan

  • Both your quilts are gorgeous! I made one ages ago, it’s in my ‘to be quilted’ stack. I did mine with the diagonal seams, but I like it just as well with straight seams…would be faster, too. Plus, I have a bag full of triangles waiting to become pinwheel blocks. I hope you make the chair cover, what a fun look :)

  • Blue.Ridge.Girl says:

    These are both great quilts! I think the secret to this quilt design is fabrics that really look great together. Isn’t it fun to use up fabric you’ve had on hand for awhile? I always wonder why I think I should keep holding on to my fabric…It reminds me of that old saying, “The love in your heart wasn’t put there to stay…love isn’t love until you give it away.” There is no benefit to just having our fabric sit on a shelf…it’s made to be used and enjoyed by us or others.

  • Lynn says:

    I really like teh way these quilts turned out!!! Beautiful!

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading Racing Stripes at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 544 other followers

