Thankful

November 19, 2012 § 7 Comments

The kitchen remodel is underway.  This is our cozy kitchen/dining/living space for the next 2-3 months.  We’ll be doing a lot of crockpot cooking. We also have a propane camp stove that we can use. The cats are completely confused! We are slightly disoriented as well.

The wall between the family room and kitchen will be removed. And the floor in the family room will be raised up so that is on the same level as the rest of the house.  The workers have some hidden artistic talent and left us a note. I love the pink stick man!

So, as you can see, there hasn’t been much sewing going on.  We’ll be spending Thanksgiving with my sister-in-law.  She is a budding quilter and has now finished two quilts!  We both still have to finish our snowflake quilts from last year.  So, we decided to make Jelly Roll Race quilts this year.  Have any of you made one?  It’s another easy one for her to make and practice her skills.  And it’s a great way for me to use up a jelly roll that has been living in my stash!  The internet claims you can make one in about 4-5 hours!  Hmmm…. we’ll let you know how that goes.

Happy Thanksgiving!  We are thankful to have such a cozy, dry house in spite of the construction going on!

§ 7 Responses to Thankful

  • Oh my, no fun to remodel…. but I’m sure the finish will be a sweet reward. I made one of those jelly roll quits several years ago. I didn’t log hours, but stitched the quilt top leisurely over a weekend. Be sure to report back; it will be interesting to hear how long it takes you and your SIL :)

  • sewprimitive karen says:

    Your temporary room looks so cozy and clever.

  • Jean(ie) says:

    I’ve been there… You have my deepest sympathies. Just keep those eyes focused on the outcome.

  • Izzy says:

    I hope this means you will be having Thanksgiving feast somewhere else? Ha a great Thanksgiving to you and yours !!!

  • Amanda Jean says:

    Happy thanksgiving!!! At least you all were smart and hired out your remodel. Must remember to do that next time…..

    Hope the remodel goes smoothly and quickly!

    can’t wait to see your jelly roll race quilt!

  • Blue.Ridge.Girl says:

    I can’t wait to see the next round of progress pictures! I bet you’ll love having the family room and kitchen open to each other. Hope your Thanksgiving was enjoyable and you and your SIL had fun on the jelly roll quilts. I spent my Thanksgiving away from my sewing machine and so I occupied myself with crochet. I’m working on socks and slippers for a friend. I’ve talked my son into letting me make him an ear-flap hat and my brother-in-law into letting me make him socks (camo of course!) It was a great weekend :o}

  • Lisle says:

    Yay! But, ugh. We remodeled our kitchen last year, and it felt like forever. It’s so worth it in the end, but the process can be really frustrating.
    Hope all goes well, and that there are no hangups.

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading Thankful at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 574 other followers

