Swept away

November 7, 2012 § 6 Comments

Things have been a little busy around here. My mom came for a visit and we went to a wedding.  And I’ve been working on my photography assignment. I’ve been taking another photography class this fall.  Just a couple more weeks and one last project and  it will be over.  It has gone by so fast!

The above image is the photo I handed in this week.  It was a 3 week process and I learned so much! You really need to click on the image and look at it in Flickr where it is bigger.  Each student started with a photo that they found in a book that interested them. It had to be from a photographer that was new to them.  From there we analyzed that photo in terms of color, composition,  & message that it might be saying.  Then it was our turn to take that image as an inspiration and find our own way of using it to say something.

The book I found in the library contained images by Paul Fusco that documented the train trip that transported Robert Kennedy’s body from New York to Washington, DC in 1968.  It is a fascinating book. People lined the tracks as the train went by and the photos show people from all sorts of neighborhoods & economic levels.  What also interested me was that the photographer was moving (he was on the train) and the subjects were stationary. Which is quite opposite of what we normally think about when taking photos.

So my husband & a friend drove me around town so that I could take photos of what ever seemed interesting to get that sense of movement that was captured in the train photos. There were a lot of bad photos!

Finally, we had to print our photos on larger than normal 8 1/2″ x 11″ paper.  I printed mine at 30″ x 15″.  The actual print is not as vibrant as this because at the last minute the lab monitor moved me from the printer I was working on to a different printer that used a roll of paper and so the colors changed.  It was a great learning process and just a glimpse into what fine art photographers go through to present their work in a gallery show.

Hopefully I will be back in the sewing room soon.  My fabric is calling me.

§ 6 Responses to Swept away

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading Swept away at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 566 other followers

