Old & New

October 5, 2012 § 17 Comments

I was digging around in my shelf of unfinished projects and pulled out this signature quilt that was given to me back in 2003 when I left my previous job.  The outside border of smaller coffee pots is a bit wavy and I initially thought that I would just fix the waviness of it.

But now I’m thinking that maybe I need to jazz up the whole quilt layout a bit.  It feels like it needs more color to me.  There is an awful lot of white space in this quilt…  Maybe add stars to the cornerstones?  Or a different layout all together that is more Gwen Marston/liberated-like?  (I have the Random Sampler on my mind)  Or add a few more coffee or food related blocks and remove some of the sashing?  What do you think?.

UPDATE:  I guess I blog too  much on the fly…  I just did a quick EQ version with cornerstones.  I’d love to hear your opinions!

And, I’m excited that I  got a good start on my low volume quilt at the quilt retreat this week.  3 days of uninterrupted sewing!  It was kinda hard to hang up a design wall on the log cabin walls, but we managed. I had such a good time with the ladies, even if I didn’t sleep very well.  I can’t wait to finish this quilt!

§ 17 Responses to Old & New

  • janprytz says:

    I think I’d fix the wavy-ness and leave the rest alone. The sigs make it special.

  • If you want more color, I like the idea of cornerstone stars…also, maybe add a skinny border to break up the white one. That way you’re not really changing the quilt too much.
    Love your LV quilt so far! The LV is one of my favorite quilts I’ve made. I will definitely make more :)

  • Mary Jo says:

    I sort of like it like it is. Has that vintage look. Maybe you have something cute to go with it for a binding. Your LV quilt is so nice. I love that look.

  • susan says:

    Heart your low volume quilt. I need to start my triangle quilt!!

  • Ann Champion says:

    Ithink the addition of colored corner stones in the sahing might bring a bit more color and harmony? I like the simplicity of it though.

    Your low volume quilt is spectacular!!! Catch up on your sleep and keep going? : )

  • That coffeepot quilt is so cute. And sewing with friends, even with sacrificing sleep, is totally the best!

  • Izzy says:

    I would embroider little faces in your coffee pots :)

  • Valerie says:

    I think it’s charming just the way it is. Quilting can add a lot to the white space. Glad you enjoyed your retreat.

  • Ellen in Oregon says:

    I love the center piece of the quilt, but I do’t understand all that plain white sashing. That area seems to be crying out for color. The repeat of the coffepot looks pretty repetitive. I would take the border blocks apart and alternate the coffeepots with coffecups. Well…you asked.

  • Ellen in Oregon says:

    I am just realized that my previous comment makes no sense & has spelling errors. I have now learned that I should spell check everything I write & I should not write anything when I am really tired. I can’t believe I said that a pattern that repeats seems repetitive – DUH! As you can tell I am a currently experiencing a decline in I.Q. and will close by saying – Have a great weekend.

  • Julie says:

    Did you notice that one coffee pot is totally flipped in the right side border?

  • SANDRA ROCCA says:

    I think its quite charming-perhaps s bit of color in the border?
    Your LVQ is stunning!

  • Jean(ie) says:

    I’m totally loving the low volume quilt! Perfect fabric choices for that. As for the siggy quilt. Get some of that cute oversize ric-rac and place that in the white inner border.

  • Rachel says:

    I like it with the cornerstones, I think it gives it something extra without taking away from the tea pots. Can’t wait to see it all done, I can’t even imagine taking it all apart and putting it back together!! :)

    Cheers!
    Rachel

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/Athenagwis

  • Viv says:

    Your low volume quilt is gorgeous, I’ve not made one yet, but it’s on the (very long) list :-)

  • pratima says:

    Your low-volume quilts stunning, Anita! Love it!!

  • izzy says:

    Yes what you said about steam comming out of the pots sounds great Anita…

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading Old & New at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 570 other followers

