Forgive me friends…

September 18, 2012 § 8 Comments

Forgive me friends, for it has been 7 days since my last blog post….

My sewing group was giving me a hard time about not blogging for a week.  Those crazy ladies!  We are getting ready for a quilt retreat in a couple of weeks. It will be the second one for our sewing group…. and my first one, EVER.  So… I’m trying to figure  out what to take along to work on.  For one thing, I really want to work on my low volume quilt. I still haven’t been able to get back to it since cutting out all of those triangles. In addition to that, what I REALLY want to do is just take a bucket of scraps and see what happens.  But what I SHOULD do is dig through my UFO pile and pick a few things that are begging to be finished.

I’ve been trying to catch up on a bunch of little things that have fallen behind… like my Flickr bee blocks.  I just finished August and now I need to start September.  The above word blocks make me want to make another words quilt but with a poem or lyrics to a song or something  instead. (the first one was made by my bee block friends)

Our neighbor’s plum tree has been exploding with plums, so I switched gears over the weekend and made two batches of this Chocolate Plum Jam. Oh MAN!  That stuff is GOOD!  Twelve half-pints for potential future gifts. (see the blurb about the kitchen remodel below) I don’t know how food bloggers do it.  I was tempted to take pictures of the process, but it would have slowed down my progress and taken twice as long to make the jam. You’ll have to settle for the finished product photo as unexciting as it is.

And… I’ve been sewing on a quilt that I want to give as a Christmas gift. (below) It’s not done yet. One more border to go.  The recipient has lots of brown & taupe in their house.  The pattern is Autumn Sunset by The Vintage Spool.  And the fabrics are all from my stash, save one.  It feels good to be able to use up some stash.

We are also planning on remodeling our kitchen… Coincidentally, the demolition & construction will be happening between November & December. I’ve been making a lot of things that require an oven & stocking the freezer for those kitchen-less weeks.  I’m precooking & freezing a few things so that we don’t get sick of eating the same thing over & over.  And everything else will have to be made on a camp stove or in a crockpot during the whole thing.

What have you been up to?

Where Am I?

You are currently viewing the archives for Tuesday, September 18th, 2012 at Bloomin' Workshop.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 570 other followers

