The value of scraps

July 8, 2012 § 19 Comments

I finished quilting the scrappy Garden Tiles quilt. (I am lame and don’t know what else to call it.)  It is obvious to me that I need to get back into quilting on my home machine instead of renting the mid-arm. I am rusty!  After washing… and the farther I get away from seeing it up close & under my machine, it really doesn’t look all that bad. It will be a good car quilt. Or picnic quilt. Or hammock quilt. I had to give it a test run in the evening last night.

It’s not very big. Approximately 57″ x 57″.  The original plan was to possibly have a class that focused on using scraps and a little lesson on value.  But it didn’t pan out. Maybe in the fall? I hate to say that I need to become more vigilant in making quilts from scraps. This one did not even make a dent. Well, maybe a small dent in the sense that whatever is used as backing does leave a small hole in my stash. And that is a good thing. Even if the scrap buckets aren’t shrinking.

§ 19 Responses to The value of scraps

  • DebbyMc says:

    Love, love, love! Your garden looks, great, too =-) The hammock picture is wonderful !

  • beth lehman says:

    it’s just gorgeous!!! i love it!

  • Betsy Lynn says:

    Wow, it looks great!
    And name is perfect for it!

  • Mary Jo says:

    Very lovely. Especially the binding.

  • Jan says:

    I really love this quilt, and think it’s perfect.

  • jodi says:

    What a beautiful quilt, and I like the name you dubbed it. I also like Scrappy Values as a name. Your blog is very helpful! Thanks for all the tutes and quilt-a-longs. I couldn’t figure out where you are located – I’m thinking the UK? Cuz that class you talked about on value would be very worthwhile for me. I’m still trying to get a handle on bravely putting fabrics together and not always playing it safe – so much more interesting!

  • Beautiful! Love how scraps can work together so well. Jxo

  • Robin says:

    The quilt is lovely! And I am thoroughly jealous of your hammock. This has been the perfect weekend for it too! :)

  • taconsolo46 says:

    I knew it would be lovely just as it was. Scrappy is the best, the absolute best. Makes me want to cut up all m fabric into 6″ squares, sew them together and see what happens.

    If I would have laid out in a hammock last night covered in a quilt, you’d have found me dead this morning – it was in the 80’s last night – our heat wave finally broke this morning with a bit of over-due rain. :-)

  • Juliann says:

    I really like this! I would not have thought to use scraps in this way but it is very appealing!

  • Rafael's mum says:

    Really love this and the way you have used the fabrics (and distributed the right values :-) makes it really special. I’d have this in my garden any day!

  • It’s absolutely gorgeous… Being someone that almost exclusively uses scraps this really floats my boat. Often I’m stuck for ideas how to use the lighter fabrics. Thanks for the inspiration.

  • Karen Beigh says:

    You have such interesting fabrics in your scrap basket. Much different than the type you would find in mine.

  • Blue.Ridge.Girl says:

    This turned out so beautifully, Anita! WooHoo and Hooray for using up some scraps and some stash! I’m trying so hard not to go out and buy new fabric and to use what I already have, but after a while I feel like everthing I make is getting done with the same fabrics…that’s not so fun.

    Some people on their blogs say that they usually buy fabric in 1/2 yard cuts. Most of my stuff is fat quarters. Even with just fat quarters it seems to live on and on. I think if I was buying 1/2 yard cuts I’d never get it used up (unless it was for backing). I’m seriously thinking that 10″ squares might just be the way to go if you don’t want the fabric to hang around forever…but, I’m not sure that’s a very economical way to purchase it.

  • Sujata Shah says:

    Anita, that quilt is gorgeous! So perfect to cozy up on a cool summer day in Seattle! I absolutely love the backing too.
    Having worked in a fabrics shop myself I know how slow the scraps go..
    Good luck with making them disappear:)
    I too hope that class goes. It is such an eye candy!

  • LeeAnn says:

    Beautiful quilt! What a lovely play on value. What is it with scraps? I think they multiply in the night–like rabbits.

  • Diane says:

    Wonderful job!

  • njquilter24 says:

    oh I love this quilt I made one similar, SMALL , though I am now tempted to make another one larger, I am working on my scrap basket/bins lately
    thinking of a few string quilts but looking for a bit of a challenge too…
    thanks for sharing, your quilts are always inspiring
    Kathie

    http://inspiredbyantiquequilts.blogspot.com

  • Anita, this is gorgeous! It is hard to believe it is made out of scraps! It is wonderful!
    -pratima

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading The value of scraps at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 565 other followers

