The value of scraps

July 8, 2012 § 19 Comments

I finished quilting the scrappy Garden Tiles quilt. (I am lame and don’t know what else to call it.)  It is obvious to me that I need to get back into quilting on my home machine instead of renting the mid-arm. I am rusty!  After washing… and the farther I get away from seeing it up close & under my machine, it really doesn’t look all that bad. It will be a good car quilt. Or picnic quilt. Or hammock quilt. I had to give it a test run in the evening last night.

It’s not very big. Approximately 57″ x 57″.  The original plan was to possibly have a class that focused on using scraps and a little lesson on value.  But it didn’t pan out. Maybe in the fall? I hate to say that I need to become more vigilant in making quilts from scraps. This one did not even make a dent. Well, maybe a small dent in the sense that whatever is used as backing does leave a small hole in my stash. And that is a good thing. Even if the scrap buckets aren’t shrinking.

Where Am I?

You are currently viewing the archives for Sunday, July 8th, 2012 at Bloomin' Workshop.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 576 other followers

