Pillow Talk

June 27, 2012 § 7 Comments

I finally finished my pillow for the Pillow Talk Swap on Flickr.  I hope my swap partner likes it!  I joined the swap in hopes that it would motivate me to make a few more pillows for our poor sofa. But I’m afraid this is all I’ve been able to accomplish so far. I’m still hoping that I will make a couple more before the summer is over. Not that we’ve really had any summer weather yet*.

I cut 2 3/4″ diamonds like we did for the Carpenter’s Wheel quilt in blues & greens… and a yellow thrown in for good measure.  Then just sewed them together in strips instead of a star shape.

I added a covered zipper in the back for easy washing.

And I love this binding fabric!  We only got it in fat quarters at the shop where I work and I bought one. Then, during shop hop last week I helped a customer choose some fabric for her project and she bought the rest of them! I really wanted to talk her out of buying the last one because I wanted it.  But I didn’t. I’ll have to see if any of the other local shops have some left.

*And… I see by the weather report that while nearly the rest of the country is suffering from a heat wave, (my heart goes out to everyone in Colorado and the forest fires!) we are still enjoying spring-like temperatures. It was 48 degrees F. (8 C) this morning.  But I hear that it is supposed to be a sunny & balmy 70 (21 C) this afternoon.  I’m not complaining, too much. It’s perfect biking weather!  Y’all can come visit and cool off for a bit and go riding with me.

§ 7 Responses to Pillow Talk

  • Tami says:

    Anita, here in the south of WA we’re looking at 80!!!! I spent time yesterday looking for trails near by. We must get out and enjoy the sunshine while it lasts. Love the pillow. My wheels are turning.

  • Jean says:

    That turned out simply adorable! And yes, the yellow houndstooth is the perfect accent! Hope you can find some more. I’m loving this weather. With this being my first Washington summer (as compared to a TN or OH summer), I’m all for it! Loving it! Yes, even the occasional rainy day!

  • The pillow is adorable!!

  • Izzy says:

    Anita, love he pillow , I see the stitching too. The whole pic is frameworthy for the wall!!

  • Karen says:

    What a lovely pillow & your stitching really sets off the diamonds!

  • susan says:

    prettty pillow. so do you just sew the back and front together like a quilt, then bind? i am making a pillow to match my low volume quilt and was wanting to do piping, but dont have any cord, and since its 100 outside i dont want to go to the store to buy. i have some bias binding left from the quilt i can use….
    im jealous of your weather. i really think i need to move out to the northwest. i think 70 is perfect!

  • Emma says:

    Beautiful!! I love the design and the colors and your beautiful quilting stitches give it such a nice texture!! Your partner is very lucky!

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading Pillow Talk at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 560 other followers

