The state of things

June 9, 2012 § 9 Comments

Just in case you were wondering what has been going on around here… this is my design wall at the moment. I LOVED reading all of your comments about which project I should work on next. I think I should ask for opinions more often!  The votes were really neck & neck most of the way. Some of you cast more than one vote so I decided to count them all.  Here’s the tally at the moment.

Snowflakes = 10
Pinwheels = 10
Baskets = 5
9-Patches = 6
Wagon Wheels = 8

And so I chose to dig out the pinwheel blocks and try to start making them into some sort of quilt. I had a hard time deciding what fabric to put between all of the blocks. I ended up with an Amy Butler print that has been in my stash for some time.  I think what I liked most about this fabric was that the value was different from the blocks. I can still see some definition between the blocks. Below were my other choices.

This is my absolute favorite Kaffe Fassett print that I have been saving for the perfect project. I almost decided to use this one, but it felt like the blocks got a little lost in the whole thing. I don’t know. Maybe I just wasn’t ready to cut it up yet.

This was another choice that has been in my stash for awhile.  There was a little more value & scale differences between the fabric & the blocks. But again, it felt a little busy to me.

It really was hard to decide. I wanted the blocks to stand out a little bit without looking like they are just blocks pasted on a background.

I’m still ripping out the stitching from my bad mid-arm experience.  A few minutes here and there and eventually it will be completely ripped.  And I started quilting the Scrappy Tiles. But my machine still isn’t exactly right from the service I had done a few months back. So it went back to the shop again. So that’s also on the back burner.  My trusty little Featherweight is helping me out right now.

Yes, I’m still going to have a give-away… I just haven’t gotten that organized yet.  I don’t know what is going on with me but at the moment I just flutter from project to project without much organization, purpose or thought. Even though it has been raining… it’s summer everywhere else. So I’m blaming my randomness on that. Enjoy your weekend!  I’m hoping we get a few dry  moments because I am itching to ride my bike. It’s been two weeks since our last ride.

Where Am I?

You are currently viewing the archives for Saturday, June 9th, 2012 at Bloomin' Workshop.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 544 other followers

