Mini Party

April 6, 2012 § 20 Comments

The only other thing I have been sewing on is my doll quilt for the Doll Quilt Swap on Flickr.  This time we were given some extra criteria to meet. We had to choose to include one of the following blocks (churn dash/shoofly,  log cabin,  drunkards path,   N.Y. beauty,  or flying geese) as well as include a solid that wasn’t white.  For some reason I felt the need to try my hand at flying geese within a wedding ring block.  Why? Because I’m crazy… I think. I’m not sure I would ever attempt this for a whole quilt!  But a mini quilt is the perfect medium to try out something new.  One day I do want to make a wedding ring quilt of some sort… just not this sort.

I started by drawing the block in EQ and then foundation paper piecing the arcs.  The solids are Moda’s Cross Weave fabrics. I LOVE the cross weave fabrics!!  And the geese, of course, are scraps.


When I had the wedding ring block sewn together, it started looking like a party was going on.   The dots started to  feel like confetti falling on my head..  So I added this GIANT Riley Blake ric rac that we have at work to keep that party feeling going.  Now…  the ric rac feels like those skinny paper streamers.  Haha!  Hope my partner likes a good party.

Me? I think I need a nap from all this partying.  (still feeling tired, but not completely exhausted like I was)

§ 20 Responses to Mini Party

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading Mini Party at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 571 other followers

