Weekend Musings

February 19, 2012 § 6 Comments

When I’m making a quilt for a swap I’m not one of those people who can plan the whole quilt out before starting.  It grows and becomes as I am making it.  Now that I see these mini Dresdens, I want to make a whole quilt of them!  See… I can’t just stick to one project and finish it! You don’t want to know how many unfinished projects I have OR how many ideas & inspirations I have that never become a reality.

These Dresden wedges are made from 2 1/2-inch strips of scraps and my Easy Dresden Ruler. They make me want to break open a fresh new jelly roll and make a whole bunch of wedges and see what kind of quilt happens.

Hope you are enjoying your weekend!  I’m making Walnut Wheat Bread and Pumpkin Bran Muffins.  Both recipes are a second go ’round.  We ate up the first batch of the bread it was so yummy.  And the first batch of muffins were a flop. They needed to bake much longer than the recipe says. I hope the 2nd batch turns out better than the first.  It’s hard to find healthy muffin recipes. Anybody have some favorites that are sweetened with fruit or honey instead of sugar?

And I did a little cleaning up on the blog. I hope no one minds that I removed the Blogland page. I just can’t keep up checking the links to see if they still work or not.  Sorry.  There are a gazillion lovely blogs out there!

§ 6 Responses to Weekend Musings

  • Rachel says:

    Your Dresden blocks are beautiful, Anita. I love the polka-dot background. I agree – a whole quilt made out of these would be wonderful.

    I made oatmeal-raisin-almond cookies this morning as a treat for my little family. If that doesn’t get my daughter out of bed, nothing will ;) I hope you have a lovely weekend too!

  • versana says:

    Your blocks are simply gorgeous and the background really makes the blades really pop!

  • izzy says:

    Hey Anita how r u ?? Those are very colorful blocks…Very nice.

  • nicolette says:

    Love your tiny dresden’s, they are the opposite of the big one in your Bloomin’ pinwheel quilt!

  • Lisle says:

    I love your mini dresden blocks! And the polka-dot background. And I love knowing that other people build “organic” quilts, too. How much fun will that be to assemble when you get it all ready? Looking forward to more photos… ;^)

  • amandajean says:

    i can so totally relate to the entire first paragraph. and i really need to get on my fab little quilt swap too…too bad we aren’t neighbors so we could sew up a scrappy storm together!

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading Weekend Musings at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 569 other followers

