Autumn is in the air

September 16, 2011 § 4 Comments

Paulie cardigan

Although the leaves haven’t really started turning yet, I’ve definitely been in the mood for some autumn knitting.  This is my very first top-down sweater.  So far so good!  The pattern is Paulie and free.  The yarn is Rauma Finullgam, a fingering weight yarn that I found at my LYS. It’s made in Norway. It starts out kinda stiff and scratchy, but I was assured that it gets softer with washing and wearing. The sturdier yarns seem to wear longer while the really soft luxury yarns tend to pill badly and just look ratty in a short period of time. I’ve sorta ditched my sock knitting for the moment in favor of a nice autumnal sweater. oops! Next month is Soctoberfest so socks will reemerge again.

Lisette skirt pattern

And what seems like forever, I’ve been longing for a wool skirt to wear with a warm sweater and tights and boots. Well, all the ready-made ones I’ve seen in stores are ridiculously expensive for what they are.  When I ended up at JoAnn Fabrics for a new cutting mat, I noticed that the wool fabrics were on sale.  I’ve also been wanting to try out Liesl’s new women’s line of sewing patterns called Lisette.  I’ve heard amazing things about her children’s patterns and am curious about these adult patterns.  I really, really need want to do some clothing sewing. But it seems like the last few things I’ve intended to make never got finished.  That needs to change!

Autumn outfit

On top of the desire for autumnal creating, I’ve got this HUGE urge to completely clean, organize and repaint every room in the entire house. Spring cleaning in the fall?

And completely random… a friend of mine posted this video below on Facebook. It is so charming and endearing. I’m hoping that my hubby and I can be so fun-loving and cute when we are that age. Heck, I wish we were right now.  My thought for the day is love your life, take every opportunity to have a little fun and enjoy learning something new!  You can read the rest of the their story over here.  They are just too cute!

§ 4 Responses to Autumn is in the air

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading Autumn is in the air at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 569 other followers

