Dresden Garden Party

July 10, 2011 § 11 Comments

My Dresden

My last class in Sisters, OR was with Kathy Doughty of Material Obsession from Australia.  The whole focus was on Dresden Plates.  It was a fun & relaxing class!  And I just realized that I never got a picture of the actual class sample. Bad me! You can go over to the list of Quilter’s Affair classes, scroll down, and see the class description.  EDITED TO ADD:  I just found the post on Kathy’s blog with a great photo of the sample quilt.

This was my Dresden quilt at the end of the day. I will be giving it to my sister-in-law who lives in Florida. I was thinking summer, happy, sunny, beach theme as I was choosing the fabrics.

Layered Dresden wedges

This is an example where the Dresden plates were layered on top of each other. And the quilter left the folded points loose and not quilted down. I loved that and think I will try that on my quilt. I also love the Dresden buds made from 3 or 4 wedges.

Pieced Dresden wedges

This is an example where the wedges were cut up to create more of a wagon wheel type of block. I love that it is one huge Dresden wedge on the entire quilt!

Split Dresden wedges

And this is an example where each wedge was split in half. And the wedges were also made in varying lengths. I love the daring adventure of this one!

I took WAY too many pictures of the quilt show and so it will take me some time before they are all upload to my Flickr account. I’ll let you know when I’ve made some progress. The weather this year was absolutely perfect and my housemates were a blast! I couldn’t have had a better time.

Updated to Add:

I often get asked if there is a pattern for any of these quilts. As of July 2013, this is what I’ve found.

Quilt #1 – This is my own quilt. It is finished, but there is no pattern available yet.
Quilt #2 – The pattern is by Wendy Williams and can be found here.
Quilt #3 – The pattern is available at Material Obsession, a quilt shop in Australia.
Quilt #4 – I do not know of a pattern for this one.

§ 11 Responses to Dresden Garden Party

  • DebbyMc says:

    What fun! I love all of these =-)

  • Such a fun post – thank you for sharing!

  • Juliann says:

    I was in class right next door to you. I remember seeing your quilt in the hallway! How fun is that? I kept thinking that now I knew what to do with that dresden plate ruler tool that I bought a few years ago!

  • Pratima says:

    It’s hard to believe Dresdens come in so many variations! Truly a garden party. You have a beautiful start on yours, Anita. Thank you for sharing!

  • Alexandra says:

    Glad you had such a good class. I attend classes with Kathy every month. We have fun every time. Some of those quilts she had with her I actually quilted!! Very creative shop to be involved with.

  • Jenny McH says:

    What an amazing time you must have had in Sisters! A class with Sue Spargo & Kathy, your head must be spinning with ideas…I have attended one of Sue’s classes here in Melbourne, Australia, she is a lovely lady and so creative. Your Dresden garden party looks wonderful, that is one lucky sister-in-law. Looking forward to your photos of the quilt show.

  • Hi Anita!
    Love this! Another quilter on Pinterest that I follow pinned your beautiful quilt and I repinned it before I even noticed it was yours. Wish I had the time to make one. My sister-in-law would love this. Oh well, someday……

    Christina Aguilar

  • Sherry miller says:

    Your sister is one lucky lady”””

  • barbara says:

    Wow,, I know I’m late to the party, but I love this sample quilt! Is there a way I can get the pattern?

  • Susan says:

    Is there a way to get the pattern?
    Susan

  • pratima says:

    Wonderfully whimsical! Hard to believe there can be this many variations with just one dresden! Glad you had a splendid time in the class.

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading Dresden Garden Party at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 570 other followers

