A Bright Spot in a Gray Day

April 14, 2011 § 8 Comments

The Wall of Flickr/Blogging Friends

Today was cold, and rainy, and dreary…  and my hubby was kind enough to share his cold germs with me.  I’ve been dragging my tail all day.  But a trip to the mailbox brought a spot of sunshine to an otherwise gray day.

Norma of Petit Design Co. was my fabulous partner in the Doll Quilt Swap and sent me this  bright and cheerful Dresden wheel.  I love it!  And it fits in perfectly with the rest of the dolly quilts hanging on the wall.  And can you see her mad quilting skills with the feathered quilting around the Dresden?  She said she used the Hooked on Feathers method. I am going to have to try that!  Feathers scare me.

Doll Quilt Swappin' Happy!

On a totally different and possibly disgusting note…  I tried using a Neti Pot for the first time to try and wash away all those cold germs floating around.  I was afraid to try it for the longest time, but my hubby loves it.  Well, it wasn’t as bad as I thought it was going to be.  And I’m hoping it will cut back on the severity of my cold. I only mention it here to see what you all think… Love it? or hate it?  Maybe I shouldn’t have mentioned it in conjunction with beautiful doll quilts. That just seems wrong.

Hoping you are having sunny, quilt-filled days!

§ 8 Responses to A Bright Spot in a Gray Day

  • Penny G says:

    My SIL loves the neti, my daughter hates it and I have never used it.

  • susan says:

    lucky you! this is beautiful.
    her quilting skills are phenomenal
    i like my neti, i had a sinus infection and it cleared up in a couple days after using mine

  • Rachel says:

    I love your wall of doll quilts and the new addition is just gorgeous. I’ll have to check out that feather quilting method – they scare me too!

    As for the Neti Pot, I’ve never tried it but it does sound kind of disgusting haha.

  • Alexis says:

    I love your doll quilt- what a gorgeous gift! I am about to try feathers for the first time- totally terrifying, but I will check out that method.

    I LOVE the Neti Pot. I have used it for colds, allergies and sinus infections for years- it can really help!

  • Sandy Sorenson says:

    I love your wall, so colorful and interesting.
    Your latest addition, the dresden plate is lots of fun, the feathers (oh my) and the BINDING! First time, I’ve seen a binding that swirls and twirls!
    Sandy

  • pratima says:

    Your wall of dolly quilts is adorable and adds a bright spot to your studio. The latest quilt is just as cute and sweet!

  • Erin says:

    I love the dresden plate. Your partner out did herself.
    As for the nettie pot, people who use them swear by them. I have never used one but at this natural foods store I used to work for they would fly off the shelves during the winter months. Hope you’re feeling better!

  • Lisle says:

    Love the quilts!! Someday I’m going to try quilting a feather pattern…

    As for the neti pot, I’ve never used one. I have a nasal rinse bottle, made by the same people. Love it to death. And if you’re really stuffy, get the the pharmacy and buy some Alkalol (about $4), and dilute it half-n-half with water. That’ll really clear out your nasal passages. But don’t use it full-strength; that’ll clear out your entire head and you’ll regret it for another hour or so.

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading A Bright Spot in a Gray Day at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 569 other followers

