The Hexagon Tile Quilt

April 3, 2011 § 28 Comments

Finished!

We had a little dry weather today so Gary helped me hang up the Hexagon Tile quilt so we could get a good look.  This was a good stash busting quilting.  While I did buy some new fabrics, I also used quite a few that had been in my stash for awhile.  I loosely followed the Spider Web pattern in Kaffe Fassett’s book Country Garden Quilts.  Before quilting and washing it measured approximately 75″ x 80″.  I’m sure it lost a couple of inches in width and length afterwards.  I just couldn’t bring myself to make it any bigger and think it’s a great snuggle-on-the-sofa size.

Washed & Ready

Each hexagon is made of six 60-degree triangles.  I sewed three triangles together to make half hexagon units, then sewed the units together in vertical rows.  By sewing vertical rows I avoided sewing any set-in seams like the directions in the book. I also made it a little bigger than the book in order to leave off the large border.  I love it borderless and full of hexagons.

It just needs a label

This will be given to a friend who is getting married next weekend.  She loves all things Italian, old antiques, retro children’s books and the color green.  I was hoping it would look like Italian tiles and on my confident days I’m pretty sure it does. And on my doubting days I get a little worried and hope she will love it anyway.

§ 28 Responses to The Hexagon Tile Quilt

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Hexagon Tile Quilt at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 565 other followers

