The wild geese are flying south

September 13, 2010 § 30 Comments

The Wild Geese Quilt!

At long last!  The Wild Goose Chase quilt is done!  Finished! And ready to sleep under!  All 16 blocks and miles of sashing!  I’m pretty happy with how this quilt turned out.  I think we will be packing it along when we head to the beach later this month. No, I’m not going to use it in the sand, but crawl under it at night, snuggle with my hubby, and watch TV. We love to go to the beach off-season, rent a house and simply relax. No schedules. Eat, sleep, read, and play only when we feel like it. It’s brilliant! And so relaxing.

A corner of the Wild Geese quilt

It does look like a lot of flying geese. Some of you have been saying that along the way. But taken in small bites this summer, it really wasn’t all that bad. And I’m glad I did it without thinking about how many triangles that was going to be.

Close-up of the stitching

This ended up being a huge quilt ~ which I like. But when it comes to the quilting, I just had to get it done and stitched a simple loopy stipple all over.  I rented the HQ Avante at a local quilt shop and used a variegated King Tut thread. After it was all finished, I was a little worried that the slightly darker color over the muslin was distracting. But I didn’t want the thread to show up too much on the Hope Valley fabric.  After sewing the binding, I now think it is just fine.  I often like to quilt with a neutral thread so that it mostly blends in.

The back.

And… here’s the back.  The miser that I am, I couldn’t bring myself to buy a whole piece of fabric for the backing and used what I had in my stash. I kind of like the pieced back look anyway.

There. Now I can move on to my slow winter project.  And if you still want to quilt along on either of these projects, you can join us over in the Flickr group.

Happy Monday!

§ 30 Responses to The wild geese are flying south

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading The wild geese are flying south at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 543 other followers

