Happy Thanksgiving Back!*

November 22, 2009 § 7 Comments

Chai Socks

Since we are joining friends for Thanksgiving dinner on Thursday, we decided to make our own Turkey Dinner at home tonight.  It just seems like a necessary part of the season to have left-over turkey in the fridge and freezer. We like to make Turkey Tetrazzini and Turkey & Rice Soup throughout the winter.  We lit a fire.  And I dug out an old knitting project. Aaaaaaah….   a perfect day!

Mad Color Weave Socks

I’ve been trying to work on my quilting UFO’s but it’s been a struggle. I’m not sure that I am going to be able to meet my goal of 6 done by the end of the year.  We shall see.  But I have finished a couple of pairs of socks.  Since there was so much yarn acquisition from the Sock Summit back in August, I thought I should attempt to knit a pair of socks each month.  So far so good.

Gary’s Chai socks above were finished in October.  He likes his socks Plain Jane.  The yarn is from Frog Creek Fibers and the color is Chai.  He loves the color! He says it reminds him of autumn.

Another pair down, 10 more to go

These socks were finished for September.  The pattern is Mad Color Weave by Tina Lorin.  And the yarn is from Enchanted Knoll, color Treasure Chest.  I’ve been working on the Through the Loops Socktoberfest Mystery Sock for November.  I just have a toe to finish!

Let’s cross our fingers and maybe we shall see some quilting crossing the finish  line.  I’m ready to sew the binding on a Block-of-the-Month quilt for a Christmas gift. It’s not a languishing UFO, but an unfinished project none-the-less.  How are your UFO’s doing?

*line from “You’ve Got Mail”.  Kathleen Kelly is in Zabar’s in the cash only line and Rose, the cashier says, “Happy Thanksgiving back”.  We had to break out the movie and watch while eating our Turkey Dinner. There are just too many good one-liners in that movie!  Another one of my favorites is near the beginning.  George says that “The Internet is just another way to be rejected my women.”  Or another time he says, “I’m going to the Nut Shop where it’s fun!”

§ 7 Responses to Happy Thanksgiving Back!*

  • annie says:

    As soon as I saw the title, I read it to my hubby and we both giggled.
    I love that show.
    Your socks are darling. I am making my very first pair and I am sorry I didn’t purchase some funky happy yarn like you have. I just got a very conservative off white and it is borrrrrrrrrring.
    You have a happy Thanksgiving back too
    ~anita

  • Trisha says:

    I love that movie! I think Tom Hanks and Meg Ryan are an awesome combination. Your socks look great. I just love the pattern on your Mad Color Weave socks. Perfect yarn for the pattern! I chose way too many UFOs for the challenge. We will see if I can finish them all. Some of my UFOs are knitting but most are quilting.

  • Jessie says:

    Love the socks! And love the movie! I am so glad you appreciate how awesome that film is, too. Happy turkey day!

  • Renee says:

    Great socks and what a great plan to knit a pair a month! Love my socks Plain Jane too. The Chai yarn is gorgeous.

  • Melody says:

    Love the socks! Your hubby’s socks remind me of autumn too. Such rich vibrant colors! And yours are so cute and fun! The “girly” colors are great!

    I’ll have to watch that movie, it sounds so funny!

  • Kim says:

    Love the socks! And that’s one of my most favorite movies!! :o)

  • amandajean says:

    i love that movie, too. i like your idea to knit one pair of socks a month. pretty ambitious!

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading Happy Thanksgiving Back!* at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 544 other followers

