First Step to Recycling Clothing

July 28, 2009 § 15 Comments

Shirt Parts

Shirt Parts

Okay, last night I snuck out into the heat once the temperatures started dropping.  And thanks for the awesome heat-busting ideas!  Some of you are old pros at dealing with the heat.  We are going to try the melting pans of ice in front of fans today.  Woohoo!

It’s just about time to start our Reclaimed/Recycled Clothing Quilt-Along. Are you ready?  What are you going to cut up and recycle?

Cut carefully next to the seams

Cut carefully next to the seams

Some of you were asking about how I went about cutting up the shirts. I used my trusty Gingher scissors, which are nice and sharp, and cut along the edges of the seams.  Then I separated all the shirt parts into piles:  collars, cuffs, yokes, sleeves, backs, fronts, and fronts with pockets.

Here’s my loosey-goosey plan.  I want to play around with the Kaffe Fassett Shirt-Stripe Boxes quilt idea from his Passionate Patchwork book.  Di, over at The Cut Cloth recently made this quilt. It’s beautiful!  And then, from there, who knows what will happen.  It all depends on how many triangles I can cut out of the shirt pieces.  There might be some rectangles and squares and what not as well.

I posted another mosaic of ideas over on Flickr for your inspirational pleasure.  Let’s start cutting!

§ 15 Responses to First Step to Recycling Clothing

  • Renee says:

    Wow – The Cut Cloth quilt is stunning! And what a fun blog.
    I’m excited to see your recycled shirt quilt progress.
    Wishing you a break in the weather – we’re STILL waiting for some heat here. Sunshine would be nice too.

  • Candace says:

    Anita – check out neck buddies at REI! We wear them on the river fishing, but in this heat they are great for around the house! Sell for about $9 – but you can make your own! They cool your core temp down and really help!
    I adore this idea of using shirts for a quilt! I’ve already warned Mr. Squash not to throw out his old shirts!
    Cheers!

  • Nancy-Rose says:

    I love this quilt! I’m going to ask my local library if they can borrow it from another library. A friend sent me a photo of a quilt made in this style that she saw at a quilt show – - she knew I’d love it!

    I’ll be watching your progress!
    Nancy

  • woolywumpus says:

    I can’t wait to see this quilt finished!! Oh, wish I had some shirts to recycle. I’ll have to enjoy from the sidelines this time!

    Stay cool :P

  • Liz says:

    I’m doing something a bit different – using an old tablecloth as a quilting project. I like the shirting quilt and will plan for one later in the year.

    I posted pictures of the tablecloth and need some opinions on repairing some damage (darn before quilting or applique something over later?), whether or not to have borders, and then the quilting pattern itself. So come vist and opine!

    Liz

    http://spinningstar.wordpress.com/2009/07/28/recycled-material-quilt-along/

  • jacquie says:

    i’m cutting…i’m working on two…one from shirts (kaffe inspired too) and one from a tablecloth like liz…should be able to start working on it soon.

  • Emily says:

    I’m using some old shirts the the coasters I am making for the Team Captain DRT boxes! I’d be ashamed to have you see them in person, but I am enjoying myself and (if I’ve done my math correctly) I think that if I put them all together, they would be bedspread size. Maybe that will help me over my Large Project Quilt Fear.

  • [...] couldn’t resist the idea of making something from recycled clothing for this Quilt-along, even though I still haven’t quite finished the things I was sure I would have done by now! [...]

  • pratima says:

    oh, what a fun quilt-along… I saved some of my husband’s shirts for a project like this, but I still have to finish my medallion. So, probably keep it for sometime in the future.
    Thanks for the inspiration, Anita :)

  • Trisha says:

    Wow, that is the perfect quilt for those shirts! Love it!

  • Meredith says:

    It is nice to have time to stop by. I am so glad you are using shirts. I have used mine especially stripped shirts for backings are a lot of fun.

  • tina says:

    I feel compelled to look for shirts every time I pass a thrift shop. I have a pretty good collection now. I also purchased Kaffe Fasset’s book and am going to do Delft Baskets. Still looking for some more blue flowered prints, but will do with what I have if necessary.
    tp

  • amy says:

    I just couldn’t resist. Dear daughter and I went thrifting this morning and I came home with a plethora of blue/white striped shirts. Sheesh, Goodwill is getting pricey!

  • [...] Bloomin’ Workshop launching the Recycled Clothing Quilt-Along [...]

  • tina says:

    I began cutting out my pieces today. I want a new machine and may get one before I actually do the quilting. My old one is just fine for piecing the top, but I want a walking foot and some of the new features out there.
    tp

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading First Step to Recycling Clothing at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 504 other followers

