All In One Week

April 24, 2009 § 26 Comments

Lets Celebrate!!

Let's Celebrate!!

Woohoo! Let’s celebrate.  Champagne all around!  More importantly than my knee feeling better is the fact that Miss Babette is finished!  Finished!!!  And my knee is feeling better, much better.  Thank you for asking! The doctor says I should be about 90% back to normal in roughly 3-4 weeks.

Finished!!

Babette is finished!!

It’s amazing what one can accomplish while being banished to the couch. Maybe even learn how to fly an airplane?  So the story goes, my husband’s Uncle Joe learned how to fly a plane (by reading a book) while in prison for moonshining.  And certainly half of Miss Babette can be crocheted in a week if you have absolutely nothing else to do.  I’m feeling very proud of myself for just finishing it.  I don’t care about the mistakes made.  I’m just SO happy to have finished it!

Im so happy!!

I'm so happy!!

The crocheting of the granny squares was fun enough. But the sewing together and weaving in of the ends was a daunting task, and I mean daunting in the most extreme sense.  What else could I have done while laying on the couch with my knee on top of two pillows and an ice bag on top of my knee?

Now… what should I fill up my cool Trader Joe’s bag with next?

Whats next?

I think I might need to take a nap!

Project Stats:

Finished size ~ approximately 49″ x 54″

Pattern ~ Interweave’s Babette Blanket

Yarn ~ a mix of Cascade 220, Elann Peruvian Highland, and Knit Picks Wool of the Andes.  I preferred working with the Cascade 220 the most and the Elann Peruvian Highland the least.

Crochet hook ~ mostly 4.0mm.  Started with a 4.25 mm metal hook that made my hand hurt after any substantial amount of crocheting.  Then, discovered Clover’s Soft Touch crochet hooks and the 4.0 seemed the closest in size.  So much better for hours and hours of crocheting!  Edging done with 3.5 mm.

Blocking is essential ~ I struggled with determining just what was the right amount of tugging on the yarn while seaming. Sometimes it was a little too tight and sometimes a little too loose.  I think I was getting the hang of it towards the end. But blocking certainly took out most of the wonky wavyness that was quite visible before hand.

§ 26 Responses to All In One Week

  • adina says:

    fantastic Babette!! Congratulations on finishing it and so glad you’re getting better. Our bodies sure are a work of wonder!

  • Meredith says:

    She is lovely and I am so glad you are on the mend!

  • MichelleB says:

    Babette is beautiful! I love it. I too hate that stitching together of squares – blech. I wonder if you could Attic24’s method of joining for this quilt?

  • terriaw says:

    Oh my goodness, it is soooo beautiful! I love the colors you chose, especially on the outer borders. I am so envious cuz I only have about 6 squares done. But I am definitely going to finish it, especially now after seeing your beautiful blanket. BTW, so glad to hear your knee is getting better!

  • Candace says:

    Totally stunning, Anita! Who knew being couch bound with a bad knee could produce such a masterpiece – Woweeee! So glad you’re on the mend and your finished Babette must have you forgetting all about the pain!!
    Cheers!

  • Jessica says:

    It’s beautiful. I’ve been toying with making a Babette myself. This is just more inspiration.

  • sophie says:

    It is just stunning, what a tremendous achievement.

  • Trisha says:

    Yay! It turned out wonderful. So pretty. What an accomplishment, Anita!

  • Jan says:

    I think your babette may be the prettiest crochet blanket I have ever seen! I really, really love it!

  • amy says:

    Huzzah! She is beautiful!! I’m so excited for you…oh, and glad the knee has a good forecast. Such a pretty Babette! Speaking of yarn, I re-learned to crochet using Cascade 220–loved it–but had previously stocked up on Amity (part wool, part poly) so that I could be a little more carefree when washing. My giant granny square is being made with Amity. Let’s just say, I realllly enjoyed the Cascade 220. Maybe I’ll get out some roller skates and see if I can bang up my knee like dear daughter did yesterday. ;-)

  • Jennie says:

    Wow – I love the brightness of this blanket! Well done on such a productive week! I’m making a blanket in small bursts of activity, but it’s only going to be a straighforward crocheted square patchwork blanket, nothing as lovely as this!

  • Jennie says:

    And good luck with my giveaway on my blog! Thanks for entering!

  • Jeannie says:

    Yipee!!! Babette is gorgeous! I love the colors and the different size blocks. I thought it was a quilt when I first glanced at the photo. Way to go!
    Second yipee for the great news about your knee. See, you’ll be up on skis in no time! ;-)

  • Emily says:

    Poor knee, but look what a pretty thing came out of it? Simply grand!

  • Elizabeth says:

    Way to go!
    That is really pretty… and I mistook it for a quilt in the first photo!

  • Renee says:

    It’s wonderful!
    Congratulations on completing such a lovely Babette and great news that your knee is feeling better.

  • Melody says:

    Congratulations! Congrats on your leg feeling better. Congrats on Babette being finished and looking beautiful!

  • I thought it was quilted from the first picture. It’s amazing.

  • So beautiful! I love all the colors :) I hope you are healing up good and on your feet again soon.

  • jacquie says:

    this is so beautiful! you wouldn’t think something with granny squares could me modern and chic, but this sure is.

  • pratima says:

    It is wonderful!! Congratulations on successfully finishing Babette and also feeling much better after the surgery :)

  • Sam E. says:

    So beautiful!! I’m thinking of making this myself (used to knit, currently a quilter, but considering crochet for something a little more summer- and travel-friendly). I love Cascade 220. How many skeins do you think one would need for this, considering your experiences?

    Thanks for sharing your gorgeous work!!

  • Aim says:

    Girl, that is super beautiful! What a great project to finish up while recuperating from surgery!!! Now you’ve done 2 good things–got the knee fixed and got a new blankie…..

  • Cindra says:

    Wow! Wow! Wow! It is beautiful! Makes me want to crochet and the last time I did I hurled a ball of yarn or two against the wall. I love to knit, but crochet boggles my mind!

    Love that bag, too.

  • Hi Anita, I just love your new blanket. I have bought the pattern long time ago and I have decided that Babette shall be my summer crochet project.

    xxx JM ;-)

  • Lynne says:

    you SHOULD be happy, Anita! It’s fabulous! I’ve been waiting to see your finished Babette!

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading All In One Week at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 560 other followers

