Granny’s Hexagons & Squares

February 5, 2009 § 9 Comments

After that initial January shot of energy to work on unfinished projects, I’ve come to a screeching halt in an unmotivated mid-winter funk. How does this happen? It’s not as if I have a lack of things to do.  And I’m sure you don’t want to know all the unruly details of life.  So… let’s try to distract this blue mood for a moment.

a future Grannys Flower Garden

a future Granny's Flower Garden quilt

I picked up this hexagon ruler by EZ Quilting at Fabric Depot on our way back from the Sisters Quilt Show in Oregon last summer.  I’ve been hoping that it would provide an easier (and by easier, I’m thinking FASTER) method to making a Grandmother’s Flower Garden quilt.  I have giant 4-inch hexagons cut.  But I feel guilty wanting to sit down and sew them when I know that I have so many other things that should and need to be finished first.

More Grannies for Babette

More Grannies for Babette

Surprisingly, my Babette blanket has been calling to me. I actually sat down and sewed two sections together and crocheted 4 of the larger granny squares.  I am feeling a little less guilty about Babette’s neglect.  I figure, if I work steadily on it for the next few months, I could potentially have a finished Babette by the end of the summer. Now wouldn’t THAT be a pleasant surprise.

44327 While flipping through a distributor catalog at work last week, I came across this recently published book, Sketching Embroidery of Kazue Sakurai.  It’s been ordered and I’m fidgeting with anticipation to see it!

It was a quilt like this… and I don’t even know if it was done by Kazue Sakurai… that inspired my Little Acorns quilt, which inspired my Purple Coneflowers quilt, which led to my For The Birds quilt for the DQS5 swap.

I love, love, love the look of this style of applique/embroidery.

Does anyone have anything else that might pull me out of the mid-winter doldrums?  The Northwest Flower & Garden Show is coming up in a couple of weeks.  That might help!

§ 9 Responses to Granny’s Hexagons & Squares

  • Melody says:

    I’m feeling the February Funk here too. Have fun at the flower show and I do hope that you take lots of pictures to share!

  • Your new book looks like tons of inspiration! Not sure how to get out of the funk really – i just make myself get outdoors for a bit :)

  • Marianne says:

    love, love, love the purple coneflowers quilt!!!

  • Candace says:

    You’re becoming the “ruler” gal, Anita! That looks like a fun one! And I really love those Japanese design books – who cares if you can’t translate – the pictures say it all!! My winter doldrums (and yes, they seem to be around of late) are always blown away when it comes time for Sew Expo! I just love going there for one, long day – take a class or two and generally wander the isles and partake in lots of retail therapy!
    Cheers!

  • amy says:

    Well, you’ve brightened things up for me…love the warmth of those hexagons. And Babette, ooo la la! Funk, be gone!

  • Tracy says:

    If you like that book, maybe you would like Janet Bolton’s work. I love her applique style as seen In a Patchwork Garden. So very nice.

  • Jackie says:

    Your quilts are gorgeous and I love the bright colors for the hexagons! Babette will work herself out!

  • pratima says:

    I’ve never seen a granny’s flower garden quilt in Kaffe’s fabrics before… how exciting. It would be the most beautiful garden :)
    Your new book is so sweet. Can’t wait to see your inspired creations.

  • mathea says:

    I didn’t realize until this year that so many feel the February Funk – I’m reading about it all over Blogland. And here I was thinking I was the only one! I’m trying to look for something nice every day, to sketch a few ideas, gather lots of inspiration (aka reading lots of magazines…) and today there will be cake ;-)
    That book looks really nice – I might just talk myself into needing it…

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading Granny’s Hexagons & Squares at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 544 other followers

