This Little Girl Went to Market

May 18, 2008 § 11 Comments

Here’s proof that I actually went. Carolyn, Tina and I were able to meet Amy Butler… In. Real. Life. I’m embarrassed to admit that I am too shy to just walk up to such well know personalities and start talking. But with friends who are good at breaking the ice, it was an amazing experience to meet these folks that we read about every day.

Quilt Market is… every emotion from one extreme to the other.

~ exciting & intimidating ~ exhilarating & exhausting
~ inspiring & overwhelming

Amy Butler really is as sweet as everyone says. Anna Marie Horner really is so energetic and creative. Mark Lipinski of Quilter’s Home really is a hoot. Joanna Figueroa of Fig Tree Quilts really is adorable and inspiring. There were so many more that I can’t even list them all!

All the fabric manufacturer’s booths were amazing. I kept forgetting to take pictures. One whole day of Quilt Market and a half day of School House lectures is too much too fast. If you were lucky enough, nearly every School House lecture had drawings with give-aways. And if you didn’t make it to Sample Spree, sometimes there were a few things left in booths to purchase. I scored on some Timeless Treasures fabric.

I came home with more than a foot tall pile of brochures, catalogs, flyers and samples… and more tote bags to add to a pile that only a Bag Lady would admit to. It would have been nice to be able to spend another day to more slowly take in and process the whole thing. But this short experience has given me plenty to think about over the next few months. One day… Houston Quilt Market needs to be on the Must Do list.

More:

Quilter’s Buzz gives a glimpse into the frenzy of Sample Spree and School House.

True Up gives a list of designers who plan on attending and others who are giving reports.

§ 11 Responses to This Little Girl Went to Market

  • Lily Boot says:

    Wow! It’s even been exciting reading everyone’s experiences at Quilt Market – how great for you to get to meet such talented and creative women – and that lovely fabric! Can’t wait to see what you do with it!

  • KT says:

    I am BEYOND jealous that you went to market. Green, green, green with envy! Cannot wait to hear all the stories about it. Again- jealous!

  • amy says:

    I keep each (of the few…) visit’s brochures inside the market tote bag as a kind of time capsule/bad filing system, I guess. You’ve summed up the feelings very well!

  • Emily says:

    I can only imagine how overwhelming being surrounded by all that fabric is! Is a fabric stash easier to store than a yarn stash?

  • Tami says:

    Emily, a fabric stash is SO not easier to store than a yarn stash. They both tend to bulge leaving your husband wondering what you’ve been up to and leaving you to justify why you had to get this blue floral pattern vs. the one you already have!
    Anita, it sounds like you had a wonderful and brilliantly challenging time. Can’t wait to see what fruits come from it!

  • [...] Anita of Bloomin’ Workshop met fabric celebrities and “came home with more than a foot tall pile of brochures, catalogs, flyers and samples” and a gazillion tote bags. [...]

  • Gina says:

    Market was a blast. Thanks for the links to Quiltersbuzz. I loved covering Market. I hope to have some video up later this week. Stop by and see me at my
    Threaded Pear
    if you are in Houston next October!

  • ivoryspring says:

    Hi Anita,

    Thanks for the Market Report – I am glad to see you getting back into the swing of things! :)

    I love your Medallion Quilt center block. I have three major deadlines in June, and so, I think I would try to join the Quilt-along at a later date… but I am definitely following everyone else’s progress with great interest! :)

    Have a wonderful weekend!

  • marklipinski says:

    Dude, you know that Amy Butler’s husband is from Pittsburgh. I’m from Pittsburgh. Given that all Pittsburgh men (at least the good ones) are interchangeable, then I am essentially married to Amy Butler. Just an FYI, and in case you are interested! :) xooxm

    PS I’m not sure she realizes that yet! xoxom

  • [...] Bloomin Workshop has her own opinion of Mark Lipinski.  Read about it here This Little Girl Went to Market [...]

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading This Little Girl Went to Market at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 574 other followers

